Cheers to 2014

Still in shock that 2014 is here…the year that I graduate from college seemed so far away just a few years ago. The expression ‘time flies’ exists for a reason. It really does.

BU Matriculation Ceremony, fall 2010. Might as well have been  yesterday.

BU Matriculation Ceremony, fall 2010. Might as well have been yesterday.

Anyway, one of my many New Years resolutions (I have a list of over 20 in a ‘note’ on my iPhone) is to update my blog more regularly. So we’ll see how that goes…

In honor of the New Year, I would like to share what I ‘cooked’ for the occasion: champagne jello.

I first had this marvelous concoction years and years ago at a family friends’ New Years party (though I was probably around 8 years old and likely had a nonalcoholic version). I don’t remember anything else from the party aside from how cool I was eating bubbly jello out of a classy champagne glass.

So here I am, however many years later, and I decided I should try to recreate this delicious memory–this time with the real stuff (I am 22 now, after all). I looked online and found a recipe in all of about 2 seconds, courtesy of Taste at Home. So here it is!

Ingredients (serves 8, though this depends on glass size)

  • 1 tablespoon unflavored gelatin
  • 2 cups cold white grape juice, divided
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 cups Champagne or club soda (my dad, who did the grocery shopping, splurged on the $9 bottle…)
  • 8 fresh strawberries, hulled

IMG_3009

Directions

  1. In a small saucepan, sprinkle gelatin over 1 cup cold grape juice; let stand for 1 minute. Heat over low heat, stirring until gelatin is completely dissolved. Stir in sugar. Remove from the heat; stir in remaining grape juice. Cool to room temperature.IMG_3008
  2. Transfer gelatin mixture to a large bowl. Slowly stir in champagne. Pour half of the mixture into eight champagne or parfait glasses (I used 5 wine glasses because I’m on vacation at a condo and that’s all we have here). Add one strawberry to each glass (pick the prettiest ones). Chill glasses and remaining gelatin mixture bowl until almost set, about 1 hour (because I used wine glasses instead of champagne glasses, it took longer to set–more like 3ish hours).

IMG_3011IMG_3013

3. Place the reserved gelatin mixture from the bowl in a blender; cover and process until foamy. Pour into glasses. Chill for 3 hours or until set.

IMG_3019

Pre-blending

Post-blending

Post-blending

Pouring blended, foamy mixture on the now-set champagne mixture

Pouring blended, foamy mixture on the now-set champagne mixture

Back in the fridge for a few more hours

Back in the fridge for a few more hours

Also, fun fact, this wonderful website posts nutritional values. Even better! Nutritional Facts: 1/2 cup equals 96 calories, trace fat (trace saturated fat), 0 cholesterol, 9 mg sodium, 13 g carbohydrate, trace fiber, 1 g protein.

The only downside is that, upon eating later, it didn’t end up bubbly. Not sure if that’s because I used wine glasses instead of champagne glasses so it took longer to set, letting more bubbles escape before setting. But that’s just my hypothesis. Who knows…

IMG_3031

You will never think of jello shots the same way again. Way prettier and way classier and way yummier.

How AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL does this look? Here’s to 2014–CHEERS!

Cheers!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

